No Place Like Home

Jazz in the Kitchen
It’s pretty much a concensus around here that this is a pretty wonderful place. He and She are reluctant to leave here for any reason (which is pretty much why they didn’t go anywhere for their recent 25th wedding anniversary), and the rest of us are all very content to remain here day in and day out.

Make that doubly so for me.

I just got home on Saturday after visiting with Dr. M’s office for a few days. Last Wednesday evening, He and She realized that I was not feeling well at all. Because of my severe illness last year, they didn’t take any chances, and had me at the office when they opened on Thursday morning. After running tests and x-rays, Dr. M determined I have an upper respiratory infection. I was treated with IV Fluids and Antibiotics and given a lot of extra TLC. He and She came by to visit with me on Friday and I even ate a few bites just to make them happy. On Saturday, I was able to come home. Of course when I got here, a couple of my brothers were eager to greet me and let me know I had been missed.

 Welcome home

Nova has been particularly sweet about keeping me company.

Team Nappers

At first I was somewhat lethargic with not much of an appetite, though I did try to please them by eating a few bites whenever food was offered to me. Right now, the main thing I want to do is lay around and sleep.

Recuperating

Unfortunately, coming home didn’t get me away from the needles this time. Because I am such a challenge for He and She to medicate, Dr. M sent my antibiotics home in syringes and She is having to inject me once a day for the next 10 days. I believe though, there is a good possibility She might get just about as much antibiotic as I will, as She doesn’t have the best track record with sharp objects.

Injectibles. Oh boy!

Actually She has done a better job with the needle than with pills or liquid, so it is really better for both of us.

Today I am actually feeling a tiny bit more energetic, and I didn’t even wait for food to be offered. This time, I politely asked for it. I sure don’t have my regular appetite back, but they were glad to see me eat what I did. I have access to dry food all day, but it’s my special Science Diet A/D that I really enjoy, and so far, that’s all I’ve had any interest in. Maybe tonight when He and She get home from work, I’ll really impress them with how much I can put away!

I do want to take a minute to thank Dr. M and her staff, including my new friend, Ms. M. I hope they will forgive me for my occassional hisses and general grumpiness while I was there. I’m feeling much more amicable now. After all, there really is no place like home.

Jazz
**************

6 thoughts on “No Place Like Home

  1. I am so sorry to hear that you are feeling bad Jazz. But I agree with you, there is no place like home.

    I see that tiny bandage on your leg. I hope you get to feeling better soon and that She continues to have great success in giving you your shots.

    I have to disagree with your cover choice though. I am a BAMA fan all the way.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better, but while you can, milk it for all it’s worth. A little wimper now & then might work & try to eat when they’re not looking. Go for it.

    Keep getting better. Keep us posted.

    Like

Share your comments

