The Highs and the Lows

kosmolousy.jpgRecently, for the first time ever, we were treated to fresh catnip.  Our friend, Mrs. A. grows it in a planter on her back porch.  She was kind enough to send some our way and this was the scene at The House of 9 Lives:

catniphigh.jpg

Not everyone is present in this picture. Jazz is not tempted by the scent and Flirt and Barny were across the room enjoying their catnip on the comfort of the rug.  As you can see, we were dropping like flies!  That fresh catnip is some good stuff.  This went on for a while, and of course, before it was over, Blossom and Allie were slap-fighting.  It just goes to show that introducing drugs into a society will always have a negative effect.

 Did you know that catnip is actually a mint? Because of its similarity to peppermint, you might find your cat attracted to that scent as well.  If you have a kitty that likes to steal the starlight mints from your little dishes, or likes the smell of toothpaste, it is the peppermint he is after.  Hey, don’t blame the kitty, we are just slaves to our olfactory senses!

Kosmo

3 thoughts on “The Highs and the Lows

  1. I’ve tried to grow catnip/cat mint in pots or in my garden but somehow within the day….it’s gone. My cats roll on it and eat it. It’s funny how some cats will get all mellow and then others get aggressive when they get them some catnip! BTW your kitties are very pretty!

    Like

  2. Cute kitties! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day to encourage me, I thought I’d finally stop in and say hello! It is always fun to see what is up in other people’s worlds! I don’t have cats at my house, just a Westie named Winston. I will have to introduce him soon on the blog just for fun! I’ll check in again soon for more cat stories!

    Melissa

    Like

  3. crikey! I’ll need to try that on my kitty, though he’s not even 3 months old yet and he’s got toys with catnip in them, they don’t seem to effect him.

    Like

Share your comments

